Hair Goals: The 2011 Edition

I prefer to make goals for the new year rather than resolutions. Why? I find that there is less pressure. When you resolve to do something, you are almost forced to follow through no matter what.  However, life happens. Many times people make resolutions that may be too much to accomplish, they feel overwhelmed and then give up.  A goal on the other hand is something you can work towards, one small step at a time. That being said, here are some of my hair goals for the new year!

1) Grow six inches of hair: I know it seems lofty and I suspect that my hair grows a little less than six inches on average, but it’s something I’d like to reach out for nonetheless. My plan is to continue to document my hair growth with pictures, keep some kind of written journal as well as  keeping my hair in protective styles 80% of the time. In total I’d like to have 14 inches of hair by the end of this year. Hopefully lol.

2) Try a few new products: At the beginning of my hair journey, I was a certified pj (product junkie) buying everything that other people suggested instead of paying close attention to what works for my hair. Now that I have a few staple products in rotation, I feel I can  branch out.  Namely,the  Shea Moisture and Oyin Handmade lines have gotten pretty good reviews so I think I will try them during the summer.

3) Baby my ends: Healthy ends means more length retention – nuff said 😛

4) Thicken up my tresses: I  notice my hair feeling on the thin side and that es no bueno. I will increase the density of my hair with essential oils, increase exercise (to wake up those sleeping follicles) and just give my hair all around tlc.

And remember, don’t feel like you’ve failed if you don’t hit every single goal. The fact that you even tried to set a goal is a good step in the right direction. With a little time and patience we can all get our lovely locks to where we want it to be.

Do you have any goals for your hair this year?

Leave a Reply

