Fear, Self – Doubt, Procrastination and Inactivity

Source: Kempsaidwhat

“I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain”. -Frank Herbert, Dune

I’m going to level with you. I wish I could tell you that in my absence from this blog , I was setting and meeting goals, closing deals and making moves. The truth is, after coming home from work , I’ve spent the last two months surfing the internet aimlessly, watching videos on YouTube and in a constant state of stuck. What is stuck? A combination of the four elements titled in this post. Fear leads to self-doubt, self-doubt  leads to procrastination and procrastination leads to inactivity. Stuck.  I wanted to lead off with the above quote because not only is it powerful but it is a great affirmation to keep in mind anytime you want to give in or give up.  Fear has held me back for so long and I am so over it. My fears are fear of failure, fear of competition and fear of being successful. Sometimes we become so fearful we begin to doubt our abilities, our decisions and choices. This has happened to me fo sho!  I begin to put things off to the point where I talk myself out of plans  and do nothing.  I am not alone in feeling this way. You are not alone. I’m going to begin a series tackling these issues because I think that it resounds with so many people. Uncertainty and instability is almost a  way of life these days with this recession/depression and making decisions has become increasingly hard. Should I go back to school? What do I go back to school for? Should I pursue a course just because it sounds good to others, to my parents or I’ve talked so much about it I can’t turn back? Should I pursue a career with my undergrad degree?  I realize that sometimes we are our greatest enemies. Sometimes we have to get out of our own head and try to look at things objectively. This will not be a “woe is me, I feel so pathetic” post so I am going to turn the page. On the website “Get Rich Slowly” JD Roth wrote a great post about building confidence. That is a major component to drop kicking fear out the door. Here are a few techniques that  he mentions:

Don’t dwell on failures.

To think confidently, act confidently.

Do not procrastinate.

Rehearse a positive outcome.

I’m going to add my two “sense”:

Baby steps leads to bigger ones.

Set daily, weekly, monthly goals.

Don’t be too hard on yourself!

Surround yourself with positive people.

I’m going to dive more into this in later posts. Remember, fear and  self-doubt  are never good enough reasons not to try.

Leave a Reply

