Moving Forward

 

Habits Change into Character.

                                                                              -OVID

Breaking old habits is harrddd. Fundamentally making changes to become the improved, awesome people we really are is harrrdd. But it is very possible by knowing EXACTLY what you want, daily self-checkins and constant readjustment to eliminate things that aren’t working anymore. This is easier in than it sounds in some ways because there are strategies you can employ to automate certain processes to reach your goals, using less self discipline and effort….more on this in a future post. I set a goal during the last few months of 2016 to create new habits which in turn creates new routines which in turn creates character. It’s Sunday, January 1, 2017 and after getting back to my apartment this afternoon, I immediately turned on the TV to watch a few Youtube vids. Now I did say that I am limiting being on the YT to Sundays which I have been doing (pats back) but now I have to watch the time I spend on it. Sometimes we deprive ourselves of our guilty pleasures and end up OD’ing!

A few tips to changing old routines

  1. Do the hardest thing first. Let’s face it studying for that exam, washing the car, going grocery shopping is not fun for normal people. If you get the biggest drags on your day out of the way first , the rest of the day can seem like a walk in the park.
  2. Complete items on your to-do list back to back and IMMEDIATELY to the extent possible. Notice how I turned on  the TV as soon as I got back home. Keep your handy dandy checklist close by or posted where you can see it and tackle that as soon as possible. You don’t have to spend hours on one thing but do quick burst of activity in 30 minute increments and take a break. You will be so surprised what you can get done
  3. Stay balanced. Don’t beat yourself up if your day doesn’t go exactly to plan. The mere fact you attempted to get tasks done means you got at least SOME done as opposed to none at all. Give yourself some credit.

I set many goals for 2017….MANY goals! But I have a clarity and a determination that I didn’t have before. I have no choice but to grow from the person I was in 2016. I am so grateful for all the fear, failures, uncertainties and doubt that I lived through because it was ALL lessons learned that I am taking into the rest of my professional life especially. My do worry about falling back into bad habits and not meeting the ambitious deadline/goals I set for myself but I don’t want to become focused on not achieving because that will only hinder my progress. At the very least I just want to follow through and have fun on the journey!

Have you set large goals for yourself this year? Let me know in the comment section!!

 

Leave a Reply

